Snowfall marks the start of the season when the conservation officers of New Hampshire begin to get the usual calls for snowmobile accidents. So, what is the requirement for reporting snowmobile accidents and who needs to report it?
Reporting Snowmobile Accidents
All OHRV accidents, including snowmobiles that involve death, personal injury and damage to property over $1,000 need to be reported. The monetary value of property damage recently changed from $500 to $1,000 in House Bill 591 last year.
Those accidents listed above need to be reported immediately to a law enforcement officer or the closest law enforcement agency. Calling 911 at the time of the accident in the case of death or personal injury would be the recommended course of action.
Who Reports Accident?
Snowmobile accidents need to be reported by the operator, or if the operator in incapacitated, the owner of the snowmobile. The operator or owner has to file a report with NH Fish and Game within five days of the accident.
The accident also has to be reported on the Fish and Game accident form, which can be found at the New Hampshire Fish and Game website, on the home page under Off Highway Recreation Vehicles.
Reports Not Limited To Trails
The requirement to report an accident is not limited to trails or frozen bodies of water. If the accident occurs on private property, for example your back yard, it meets the requirements above and still needs to be reported.
It is very important to report these accidents, the penalties for not reporting accidents are stringent and they are this way for a reason. Failure to report these accidents can result in high fines or even prison sentences.
Hopefully you and your loved one have a safe snowmobiling season but if an accident occurs at least you have an idea of what needs to be reported.
You must be logged in to post a comment.